Board Officers

The Snipe Class International Racing Association (SCIRA) office is run by the paid, full time Executive Director, Jerelyn Biehl. Yearly membership in SCIRA is required to race in sanctioned regattas (a hull sticker is required for boat owners). Sanctioning assures that regattas will be managed according to class standards (courses, sailing instructions etc.)..

SCIRA is a member of World Sailing as a recognized international Class.

Directory of SCIRA Officials

The SCIRA Officers (National Secretaries and Board Members) are listed below. For more information about Snipe sailing in a specific nation, please go to the Nations web site or contact the relevant National Secretary. In addition, the SCIRA office can provide more detailed information on the boat, used boats, and contacts for individual fleets, both international and US.

Past SCIRA Officers: 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 2023 2024

SCIRA Office:

Jerelyn Biehl
2812 Canon Street
San Diego, CA 92106
[email protected]
+619-222-0528 (fax)

Class Officers
Commodore: Zbigniew Rakocy (2023-2024)
Vice Commodore: Martin Bermudez (2023-2024)

Voting Board Members
2024 SCIRA Officers Directory

Rules Committee Chairman: Gus Wirth, USA
European General Secretary: Yannick Laumanns, BEL
Western Hemisphere & Asia General Secretary: Paola Prada, BRA

Treasurer: Sue Roberts, GBR
Secretary: Reino Suonsilta, FIN

Non Voting Board Members
Legal Counsel: Leigh Savage, USA
WS Representative:

Chief Measurer: Luis Gonzalez, ESP
Vice Rules Chairman: vacant

Executive Director: Jerelyn Biehl, USA

Hemisphere Officers

WH&A General Secretary Paola PradaBrazil[email protected]
WH&A Vice Secretary Alberto PrietoChile[email protected]
European General SecretaryYannick LaumansBelgium[email protected]
European Vice SecretaryManuel Stichini VilelaPortugal[email protected]
European Northern SecretarySvend AndersenDenmark[email protected]
European Southern SecretaryFloriane Le FlochFrance[email protected]
Europeans Eastern SecretarySzymon PolacyzkPoland[email protected]

Technical Committee

Chairman: Gus Wirth, USA
Vice Chairmen
Chief MeasurerLuis Gonzalez, Spain
Vice Chairman, Rules Committee: Gus Wirth, USA
Member: Mariano Arroyo, Argentina/Spain
Member: Jan Carlander, Sweden
Member: Andrea Piazza, Italy
Member: Mario Eugenio Tavares, Brazil
Member: Masakazu Sasai, Japan
Chief Information Officer: Don Bedford, USA