Snipe Challenge in Stromness

Snipe Challenge in Stromness Image

Stromness, Orkney, Scotland, UK, July 21, 2022. Final results after 3 races :

  1. Mark Taylor and Anna Taylor, 5
  2. Scott Tulloch and Amy Tulloch, 8
  3. Malcolm Tipler and Leanne Fischler, 9
  4. John Orr and Sid Milton, 14
  5. Ian Johnstone and John Young 15

The results sheet shows only the names of the boats.  The names of the skippers and crews are given below in boat alphabetical order by sailing club:

Stromness SC
Boreas – Ian Johnstone and John Young
Double Dutch – Kenny Holland and Ewan Sinclair
Hassfang – Chris Moore and Barry Jones
Mandarino – Malcolm Tipler and Leanne Fischler
Per La Vela – Scott Tulloch and Amy Tulloch
Scooby – Donnie Hall and Beta Rodrigues
Skeldro – Mark Taylor and Anna Taylor

Holm SC
Aeolus – Charlie Siderfin and Jack Moode
Fiddlesticks – Lynn Bartlett and Tamsin Bailey
Rio – Derek Johnston and Steven Bruce
Smurf – Marie Fleet and Sacha Wilham
Topaz – John Orr and Sid Milton
Valkyrie – Graeme Bartlett and Guy Wilson

Inter Club and
Frozen Food Centre Shopping Week Snipe Challenge

The Inter Club competition against Holm SC was hosted by Stromness SC on Thursday, 21 July 22 and was run in parallel with the Frozen Food Centre Shopping Week Snipe Challenge.  For Stromness boats the results also counted for the Summer Series and May-August Points Series.

A total of thirteen boats sailed, seven from Stromness SC and 6 from Holm SC.  In the Inter Club match only the first six of the Stromness boats in the first race scored points for Stromness and those same six boats’ results in the second and third races also counted.  This meant that Scooby’s results on the water did not count in the Inter Club match but did count for the Frozen Food Centre Shopping Week Snipe Challenge competition.

Three races were sailed using course 19 for two races and course 2 for the third race.  The wind was force 10-15 knots from the North West and general conditions were good though not very warm.

In the Inter Club competition, Stromness were convincing winners, getting revenge for their sound defeat at the hands of Holms SC last time.

Many thanks go to all the sailors from both Clubs, to Geordie and Lorraine Thorpe, who did the starting, to Willie Mackay and Johnny Robertson on the support boat, to Iso Tipler and Lorraine Thorpe who did the scoring and of course to Tony Miller as host Commodore.

(Source: Stromness Sailing Club)



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.