Copa de Andalucia

Copa de Andalucia Image

Cadiz, Spain, September 13, 2020. Final results after 1 race:

  1. Jose Maria Guerrero Macias & Juan Luis Granados Sardi
  2. Martin Bermudez de la Puente & Eugenia Vanni
  3. Angel Carlos Ballesteros Martinez de la Camara & Angel Ballesteros Jimenez
  4. Juan Castaneda Gonzalez & Pablo Alcina Benavente
  5. Alfonso Diaz Canel Vigil de Quinones & Antonio Martin Morell

Final results

Cádiz Snipe Fleet celebrates 20 years of existence with the first “Anniversary Trophy”.

Levante, the local easterly wind, becomes an unwanted guest and spoils the second day, preventing any leg from being held.

Monday, 15 Sep 2020

The Snipe Fleet of Cádiz has celebrated its 20th anniversary this past weekend with the 1st Anniversary Trophy, a regatta created to celebrate the re-founding of what in the 70s and 80s was one of the most powerful fleets in the Snipe class in Spain, where illustrious names such as Iturrioz, Larrañaga, Flethes, Vierna, Castañeda or Parga filled the shelves with triumphs.

The objective of the organizers was to promote an event that could establish for the future a fixed appointment in the Bay of Cádiz within the annual calendar of the Snipe Spain Class. For this purpose, the regatta was achieved as a scoring event for the National Circuit of the Class, as well as Andalusian Cup.

The weather forecast, which announced strong winds from the southeast for the entire weekend, was not inconvenient for the nearly 40 registered boats to hit the water on Saturday after the committee raised the Delta flag. At 1:00 p.m. the start of the first leg was given, which in the end would be the final one, since the second had to be suspended because the wind exceeded the limit established for the Class. A yellow alert announced by AEMET on Sunday with guts of over 35 knots, would ruin any hope of holding any test.

Thus, the regatta is resolved with the only test that could be held on Saturday under strong east winds and the regional cup is valid, which is won by the crew formed by Ángel Ballesteros Martínez de la Cámara and Ángel Ballesteros Jiménez RCN of Motril. Both occupy the third absolute place behind the crews of José María Guerro and Juan Luis Granados (RCN de Motril / RCN de Valencia), champions of the “Trofeo Aniversario”, and the one formed by Martín Bermúdez and Eugenia Vanni (RCN de Madrid and the RCN of Valencia), seconds.

The regional podium is completed by Juan Castañeda and Pablo Alcina (Commission Naval de Regatas de Cádiz / CD Flota Snipe de Cádiz), who also win the special award “Emilio Rodríguez de Trujillo”, and the crew of Alfonso Díaz Canel and Antonio Martín, from the CD Flota Snipe Cádiz.

In the words of Alfonso Díaz-Canel, President of the Fleet, “The weekend has been almost perfect and we cannot be more satisfied: being able to gather 40 boats from all over Andalusia and the rest of Spain within the extraordinary situation we are experiencing it’s a success and will also allow us to set the foundations to establish a fixed regatta in the national calendar. It’s a shame that wind got us down on Sunday, but that’s the way regattas are ”.

The 1st Trofeo Aniversario is organized by the Snipe Cádiz Fleet in collaboration with the Andalusian Sailing Federation and the Real Club Náutico de Cádiz. It also has the support of the Cádiz University, the Spanish Navy, the Naval Regatta Commission and with the sponsorship of Estrella de Galicia, Cabreiroá, Marisco Cortemar and Gipsy 1927.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.