Women’s World Championship Results

Women’s World Championship

The Roy Yamaguchi Trophy

The Roy Yamaguchi Memorial Trophy was presented for the first time at the Women’s World Championship (1994). Roy Yamaguchi was a memorable and important person not only to the Japanese Yachting Association, but also to SCIRA.

In 1956, he was instrumental in organizing the Tokyo Bay Fleet, Japan’s first Snipe fleet, and was the first Japanese person to participate in the 18th World Championship in Cascais, Portugal with Mr. Fujiya Matsumoto as his crew. The Tokyo Bay fleet has produced many great sailors since then, all who have supported the Japanese Yachting Association and are still active today as International Judges and leading yachtsmen of Japan.

In 1959, SCIRA recognized Mr. Yamaguchi’s leadership and loyalty by electing him to the Board of Governors. Roy created the All Japan Snipe Class Championship and later introduced the first Dragon boats to Japan in 1958. He continued to promote sailing in Japan by producing 8 Finns in preparation for the 1960 Olympic Games, donating them to Universities.

In 1963, he died at the early age of 42. He had constructed a 5.5 meter boat for the 1964 Olympic Games, and Fujiya Matsumoto carried out his wish, naming the boat “Roy” and competing in those Games.

The Japanese Snipe Class and SCIRA is extremely proud to have the Women’s World Perpetual Trophy named after Mr. Roy Yamaguchi. Mrs. Motoko Matsumoto was responsible for commissioning the artist to design and craft the beautiful vases presented. Everyone was honored to have Mrs. Roy Yamaguchi and her family present for the first presentation.

Juliana Duque/Mila MeckerethBRASao Paola, BRA2021
Carol Cronin/Kim CouranzUSANewport, RI, USA2018
not enough competitors to meet ISAF requirements Lake Bracciano, ITA2016
 not enough competitors to meet ISAF requirements Villa Carlos Paz, ARG2014 
Marta/Angela HernandezSpainMalaga, ESP2012
Anna Tunnicliffe/Molly VandemoerUSASt Petersburg, FL, USA2010
Mariana Gallego/Marina SanchezSpainRoquetas del Mar, ESP2008
Andrea/Mariana FogliaUruguayPunta del Este, URU2006
Andrea/Mariana FogliaUruguayOslo, NOR2004
Carolyn Brown/Julie RedlerUSASt Petersburg, FL, USA2002
Karianne Eikeland/Janett KreftingNorwayTrieste, ITA2000
Ekaterina Skoudina/Tatiana LartsevaRussiaAnnapolis, MD, USA1998
Pauline Book/Carine JuliussenNorwayMar Menor, ESP1996
Pauline Book/Carine JuliussenNorwayYokohama, JPN1994