SCIRA Announces 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees

SCIRA Announces 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees Image

The 2021 Snipe Hall of Fame Inductees continue to top the list of who’s who in the sailing world.  SCIRA is proud to induct these 5 new members to follow the rules (10 in first year, eight for the second year and 5 for the years following).

The 2021 inductees sailors who have not only contributed to the Snipe Class but to the sailing public as well.   We honor these sailors:

Alberto Lineburger

Jerry Thompson

Jimmie Lowe

Mark Reynolds

Paul Elvstrom

The International Snipe Class has a long history of which very few other classes can boast. The boat was designed by Bill Crosby in 1931 and 88 years later, 32000+ boats have been built with fleets in over 30 active nations.

It is a history of people, sailors, champions, enthusiasts, promoters, sailmakers, builders and organizers.

The past is strongly linked to the present: all the inductees have helped to promote and grow our Class in many countries and continents; many of these people are still strongly linked to the Class or have been, when they were alive, to form a large family, the Snipe Family, from great-grandparents to grandchildren.

For this reason, the “Snipe Class International Racing Association Hall of Fame” was created.

The SCIRA Hall of Fame honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Snipe Class and Snipe competition.

The Class is honoring three categories: Sailing, Technical Design and Contributors, –people who made significant contributions to the Snipe Class.

Hall of Fame Categories

  • Sailing: achievements on the water by a sailor
  • Technical/Design:Significantly contributed to technical aspects as a builder, sailmaker
  • Contributors:made significant contributions to the Snipe Class such as a coach, – administrator, officer, promoter, organizer.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.