World Masters Championship of SCIRA - Id Crook Memorial Deed of Gift

Emblematic of: World Masters Championship of SCIRA

Donated by: SCIRA Canada

Owned by: SCIRA Canada

Awarded to: The Fleet of the winning skipper.

Entry & eligibility: Both skipper and crew shall be citizens or residents for at

least one year of the country they represent, and each must present credentials signed by the National Secretary from the country he/she represents attesting that he/she is the

entrant.

Skipper to be at least 45 years of age in the year of the regatta. Combined age of skipper and crew must be at least

80 years in the year of the regatta.

Open to: Any SCIRA member that meets the requirement of eligibility in

the year of the championship.

Regatta Conditions: 1. World Sailing Regulation 10.4 shall apply to award the title.

2. Held in alternate years with the World Championship of

SCIRA.

3. To be sailed in waters selected by the SCIRA Board of

Governors.

4. There must be a separate Race Committee and Protest

Committee.

5. Eight (8) races of the official SCIRA courses shall be

scheduled.

6. The Notice of Race shall include the following:

(a) The Rules of Conduct for national and International

Championship will apply.

(b) The Deed of Gift for the World Masters Championship will

apply.

(c) The maximum wind speed allowed for a start shall be 15

knots. A race shall be abandoned if, after the start, the wind

increases to over 15 knots.

(d) No more than 2 races shall be sailed in one day

(e) When less than seven (7) races are completed, a boat's

series score will be the total of her race scores. When seven (7) or more races are completed, a boat's series score will be

the total of her race scores excluding her worst score. Three

(3) races shall constitute a regatta.

- 7. The Organizing Authority must provide an adequate number of equally matched boats with good racing capability to loan or charter to competitors who do not bring their own boats.
- 8. Boats to be weighed and sails measured only.
- 9. It is preferable that the regatta venue rotates: North America, Europe, South America and Japan.
- 10. Trophies presented to the top 3 places in the following divisions:
- Apprentice Master Division (45-54 years)
- Master Division (55-64 years)
- Grand Master Division (65-74 years)
- Master Legends Division (75 years old and onwards)

The Overall Master World Champion will be the top placed team.

Language:

The official language shall be English. The use of other languages, as secondary, can be the prerogative of the Organizing Authority and shall not be used for Official Communications with competitors by the Committees or Organizing Authority.

Trophy Responsibility:

The trophy is the responsibility of the Fleet of the winning skipper. The fleet shall see that the trophy is taken care of, guarded and returned to the place designated for the next competition, properly boxed for shipment with all duties and other charges paid by the Fleet. The name of the winning skipper, year, fleet and country shall be engraved at the winner's expense in uniform engraving.

Revision of Deed of Gift:

By agreement between the donor and the SCIRA board of Governors.

Previous winners:

1986 Ken Simons, USA, sailed at Atlanta, Georgia. 5 nations, 32 boats

1987 Ivan Pimentel, Brazil, sailed at Sao Paulo, Brazil. 4 nations, 19 boats

1989 Ivan Pimentel, Brazil, sailed at Oakville, Ontario, Canada. 6 nations, 31 boats

1991 Felix Gancedo, Spain, sailed at Santiago de la Ribera, Spain. 12 nations, 57 boats

1992 Paulo Santos & Fernando Silva, Brazil, sailed at Algarve, Portugal. 49 boats

1994 Kazunori Shinka &Tetsuji Nakatani, Japan, sailed in Gamagori, Japan. 11 nations, 59 boats

1996 Birger Jansen & Marianne Stigar, Norway, sailed in Oslo, Norway. 14 nations, 58 boats

1998 Bibi Juetz & Felipe Vasconcellos, Brazil, sailed in Villa Carlos Paz, Argentina. 9 nations, 35 boats

1999 Flemming Christiansen & Morten Ullmann, Denmark, sailed in Horsens, Denmark. 14 nations, 63 boats

2002 Augie Diaz and John Kehoe, USA, sailed in St. Petersburg, Florida, USA. 12 nations, 61 boats 2004 Augie Diaz and Lisa Griffith, USA, sailed on Lake Bracciano, Italy. 16 nations, 83 boats 2006 Augie Diaz and Pam Kelly, USA, sailed in Nassau, Bahamas. 9 nations, 36 boats.

2008 not sailed

2010 Paulo Santos and Rodrigo Inacio, Brazil, sailed in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. 6 nations, 54 boats.

2012 Augie Diaz and Justine O'Connor, USA, sailed in Santiago de la Ribera, Spain. 14 nations, 77 boats.

2014 Takeyasu Suqiyama and Hirotaka Kaneda, Japan, sailed in Fukuoka, Japan. 8 nations, 36 boats.

2016 Ernesto Rodriguez and Kathleen Tocke, Ft Lauderdale, FL, sailed in Nassau, Bahamas. 9 nations, 35 boats.

2018 Damian Borras and Jordi Triay, Spain, sailed in Vilamoura, Portugal. 15 nations and 78 boats.

2023 Damian Borras and Sara Franceschi, Spain, sailed in Puerto Sherry, Spain. 16 nations and 110 boats.