European Snipe Cup – John Broughton Trophy Deed of Gift

Emblematic of: European Cup

Donated by: SCIRA United Kingdom

Owned by: SCIRA United Kingdom

Awarded to: The trophy shall be awarded to the Fleet of the first European

skipper.

Open to: Any SCIRA member for the year of the regatta.

Regatta Conditions: 1. Held on alternate years with the European Championship in

waters selected by European National Secretaries.

2. A minimum of 6 and a maximum of 9 races shall be

scheduled depending on local conditions.

3. The Notice of Race shall include the following:

(a) The Rules of Conduct for National and International

Championships will apply.

(b) The Deed of Gift for the John Broughton European Snipe

Cup will apply

(c) When four (4) or less races are completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores. When five (5), six (6) or seven (7) races are completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score. If eight (8) or nine (9) races are completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her two (2) worst

scores.

Language: The official language shall be English. The use of other

languages, as secondary, can be the prerogative of the Organizing Authority and shall not be used for Official Communications with competitors from the Committees or

Organizing Authority.

Trophy Responsibility: The trophy is the responsibility of the Fleet of the winning

skipper. The fleet shall see that the trophy is taken care of, guarded and returned to the place designated for the next competition, properly boxed for shipment with all duties and other charges paid by the Fleet. The name of the winning skipper, crew, year, fleet and country shall be engraved at the

winner's expense in uniform engraving.

Revision of Deed of Gift: By agreement between SCIRA United Kingdom and SCIRA

Board of Governors.

Previous winners:

1977 Cebalos and Manrique, Spain, sailed in Spain

1979 Melia and Campos, Spain, sailed in Lorient in France

1981 Dirk DeBock and E. Maes, Belgium, sailed in Broadstairs in England
1983 no report
1985 no report
1987 no report
1989 Carlos Llamas and Angel Prieto, Spain, sailed in Italy
1991 not raced
1993 Christian Thomsen and Helle Thomsen, Denmark, sailed in Audierne in France
1995 Peter Wolstenholme and Alan Williams, United Kingdom, sailed in UK
1998 Miguel Leite and Tiago Borges, Portugal, sailed in Porto in Portugal
2001 Giovanni Galeotti and Dina DeBock, organized by Belgium and sailed in Brouwershaven in Holland
2003 Giovanni Galeotti and Dina Galeotti, sailed in Herne Bay in UK
2005 Thierry den Hartigh and Greet Janssen, sailed in Caldonozzo
2007 sailed in Belgium
2009 Bart and Eva Janssens, Belgium,
2011 Jan Peeters and Nathalie Janssens, Belgium, sailed in Poland
2013 not raced (insufficient # of races)
2015 Manu Hens and Maj Kristin Hansen Borgen, Belgium
2017 Manu Hens & Thierry Anrys, Belgium
2018
2019 Jose Luis Maldonado & Alex Tinoco, ESP/Brazil
2020
2021
2022 Dario Bruni & Francesc Scarselli, Italy
2024 Manu Hens & Alexandre Tinoco, Belgium, sailed in St Lawrence Bay, UK