European Junior Championship of SCIRA - Deed of Gift

Emblematic of: Junior Championship of Europe

Donated by: SCIRA United Kingdom

Owned by: SCIRA United Kingdom

Awarded to: The trophy shall be awarded to the Fleet of the first European

skipper.

Entry & eligibility: Both skipper and crew shall be citizens or residents for at

least one year of the country they represent, and each must present credentials signed by the National Secretary from the country he/she represents attesting that he/she is the

entrant.

Open to: Any SCIRA junior member that meets the requirements of

eligibility for the year of the Championship.

Regatta Conditions: 1. Held on alternate years with Junior World Championships of

SCIRA at the venue selected by the European National

Secretaries.

2. Eight (8) races shall be scheduled.

3. The Notice of Race shall include the following:

(a) The Rules of Conduct for National and International Championships will apply.

(b) The Deed of Gift for the Junior Championship of Europe will apply.

- (c) The maximum wind speed allowed for a start shall be 16 knots. A race shall be abandoned if, after the start, the wind increases to 19 knots or more.
- (d) When less than seven (7) races are completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores. When seven (7) or more races are completed, a boat's series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score. Three (3) races shall constitute a regatta.
- 4. There must be a separate Race Committee and Protest Committee.
- 5. A minimum of one team (skipper and crew) from each country shall be offered lodging and food.
- 6. Entry fee should be kept to a minimum.
- 7. The Organizing Authority must provide an adequate number of equally matched boats with good racing capability to loan or charter to competitors who do not bring their own boats.

Language: The official language shall be English. The use of other

languages, as secondary, can be the prerogative of the Organizing Authority and shall not be used for Official Communications with competitors from the Committees or

Organizing Authority.

Trophy Responsibility: The trophy is the responsibility of the Fleet of the winning

skipper. The fleet shall see that the trophy is taken care of, guarded and returned to the place designated for the next competition, properly boxed for shipment with all duties and other charges paid by the Fleet. The name of the winning skipper, crew, year, fleet and country shall be engraved at the

winner's expense in uniform engraving.

Revision of Deed of Gift: By agreement between the donor and SCIRA Board of

Governors.

Previous winners:

1979 Ian Brewer and Graham Brewer, England

1981 Javier Lopez Vazquez and Carlos Martinez, Spain

1983 Javier Lopez Vazquez and J. Bats, Spain

1985 F. Pereda and C. Martinez, Spain

1987 C. Fernandez and J. Fresneda, Spain

1989 Santiago Lopez Vazquez and Ignacio Torcida, Spain

1991 Michael Irgens and Tom Erik Smedal, Norway

1993 Diego Cayolla and Duarte Araujo, Portugal

1995 Karl Otto Book and Jostein Grodem, Norway

1998 Gabriel Orfila and Arturo Barranco, Spain

2000 Francisco Sanchez and Javier Jimenez, Spain

2002 Rayco Tabares and Mariano de Leon, Spain

2004 Alfredo Gonzales and Francisco Perdomo, Spain, sailed in Trieste – Italy

2006/7 sailed in Cadiz. Spain

2008 Jordi Triay/Ruben Coll, Spain, sailed in Roquetas al Mar, Spain

2010 Alvaro Martinez/Mauricio Utrera, Spain, sailed in Spain.

2012 Jose Maria Guerrero and Andres Del Riego, Spain, sailed in Cervia, Italy

2014 Raul de Valenzuela and Antolin de Ona, Spain, sailed in Kamien Pomorski, Poland

2016 Enric Noguera and Marc Capo, Spain, sailed in Santiago de la Ribera, Spain

2018 Matthew Wolstenholme and Patrick Sarsfield, Great Britain, sailed in Pori, Finland

2021 Manolo Rey-Baltar and Borja Reig, Spain. Sailed in Almeria, Spain

2023 Carlos Bermudez de Castro Castro and Cesar Herrero Baspino, Spain, sailed in A Coruna, Spain