Junior European Championship Trophy

Emblematic of:	Junior Championship of Europe
Donated by:	SCIRA United Kingdom
Owned by:	SCIRA United Kingdom
Awarded to:	Winning skipper and crew
Open to:	1. Junior Snipe sailors, skipper and crew with both older than 14, but under 22 (not having their 22 nd birthday
	during the calendar year in which the event is held)
	2. They must be citizens of the country they represent and only in case of incapacity of the crew may he be
	replaced by one of another nationality.

- 3. Each skipper must present credential signed by his National Secretary attesting that he is the entrant.
- 4. The current champion automatically qualifies if he is otherwise eligible.
- 5. This championship is open to skippers from any European country in good standing with SCIRA. 3 countries must be registered to conduct a Championship.
- 6. A minimum of one team (skipper and crew) and escort (one person) from each country shall be offered lodging and food.
- 7. No entry fees are chargeable.

Regatta Conditions: Held on alternate years with Junior World Championships in waters selected by National Secretaries of Europe, using "Rules for Conducting National and International Regattas."

- 1. Nine to eleven races, depending on local conditions, of the official SCIRA courses published in the current Rulebook or SCIRA official web site. Races shall be managed to last approximately 60-75 minutes. A different time used to complete the race will not be grounds for protest. The maximum wind under which a start should be made depends upon water conditions, which will be prevailing. Races may be started in winds up to and including 8 meters per second and a race shall be abandoned if the winds rise 10 meters per second.
- 2. The fastest schedule approved is as follows:
 - First, second, and third days 3 races
 - Fourth day 2 races
 - Fifth day 0 races
 - A longer schedule giving more opportunity to make up lost races is recommended.
- 3. If 6 to 8 races are completed, the worst race shall be dropped, including a disqualification. If 9 to 11 races are completed, the two worst races shall be dropped, including a disqualification. If 5 or fewer races are completed, all shall be counted.
- 4. Three races shall constitute a regatta. In case of ties refer to current SCIRA scoring rules.
- 5. The National Secretary of the sponsoring country shall be the official SCIRA representative

<u>Trophy Responsibility and Conditions</u>: The name of the winning skipper, crew, year, fleet and country shall be uniformly engraved at winner's expense. The winning skipper and his National Secretary shall be responsibility for the

trophy and it shall be returned to the site of the next competition, properly boxed and with all fees paid.

- Ian Brewer and Graham Brewer, England
- 1981 Javier Lopez Vazquez and Carlos Martinez, Spain
- 1983 Javier Lopez Vazquez and J. Bats, Spain
- 1985 F. Pereda and C. Martinez, Spain
- 1987 C. Fernandez and J. Fresneda, Spain
- 1989 Santiago Lopez Vazquez and Ignacio Torcida, Spain
- 1991 Michael Irgens and Tom Erik Smedal, Norway
- 1993 Diego Cayolla and Duarte Araujo, Portugal
- 1995 Karl Otto Book and Jostein Grodem, Norway
- 1998 Gabriel Orfila and Arturo Barranco, Spain
- 2000 Francisco Sanchez and Javier Jimenez, Spain
- 2002 Rayco Tabares and Mariano de Leon, Spain
- 2004 Alfredo Gonzales and Francisco Perdomo, Spain, sailed in Trieste Italy
- 2006/7 sailed in Cadiz. Spain

1979

- 2008 Jordi Triay/Ruben Coll, Spain, sailed in Roquetas al Mar, Spain
- 2010 Alvaro Martinez/Mauricio Utrera, Spain, sailed in Spain.
- 2012 Jose Maria Guerrero and Andres Del Riego, Spain, sailed in Cervia, Italy
- 2014 Antolin Alejandre and Francisco Martin Lagos, Spain, sailed in Kamien Pomorski, Poland